Greetings and salutations to all

Barek

Advertisement
Hello I am new to the forums and wish to introduce myself, I go by Barek on here and have been into SCA for about 22 years off and on, I am now starting up a hobby business of jewelry and chain mail armor crafting, no this is not to promote myself or anything of the sort just giving my foundation as I’m completely new to all of this and have a long way to go. I have some orders of tools and materials on the way to get going so any input of any type is welcome thanks in advance to all. This is what I’ve ordered to start, anything else you would recommend??
7EB40384-26F2-4778-82BA-9AC8C72A2C82.jpeg
97145D39-F141-494E-9FF9-4B548142B0A0.jpeg
65F1704B-8E7D-4463-AFF8-9ADC204A3F42.jpeg

MrDeranged

Staff member
Beta Tester
Welcome to the site! Did you order the top two items, or just the bottom four? If you ordered everything in your screenshot, I would give the following advice:

Organizer Box - I don't personally like when compartments share an opening. Items have a habit of switching compartments on you, and you don't want to deal with what happens if it drops and pops open. Better off with keeping rings in individual containers (even just bags) or a container where the individual compartments have their own lids. I personally use larger containers with rings in individual bags to contain them in case of any accidents.

Chenkou rings - Use them for practice. If they're true to form for those type of ring listings, they're probably not the best quality and you may not even know what metal they're made of.

Chainmaille Joe Stuff - I have the kit myself, there's a good variety of ring sizes in there and the instructions in the book are pretty good. Try out different weaves and see what types you like making. It will help guide you with what sizes you will need for future ring orders.